3800 Lapeer Road Port Huron Twp., Michigan 48060

## Planning Commission Meeting Minutes September 14, 2023

Fax: (810) 987-6712

- 1. Meeting Called to Order by Acting Chairperson Sheri Faust at 7:00pm
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Roll Call
  - a. Present: Acting Chairperson Sheri Faust, Stephen Tetreau, Laura Covyeow, Trustee John Reno, Laura Covyeow, Jerry Sebastian and Mike Bacheller
  - b. Absent: Mark Kovach
  - c. Also Present: Twp Planner Stephen Cassin, Penny Simpson, Recording Secretary, Nick Sears, Paul Jenkins and Monica Hudson
- 4. Agenda Approval:
  - a. Motion by Trustee John Reno, seconded by Mike Bacheller, to approve the agenda as presented. **Motion Carried**
- 5. Approval of Minutes:
  - a. Motion by Jerry Sebastian, seconded by Trustee John Reno, to approve the minutes of the **July 13, 2023** meeting as presented. **Motion Carried**
- 6. General Public Comment:

Acting Chairperson Sheri Faust addressed the letter received from Marysville Farms dated September 12, 2023, which was received after the agenda for the September 14, 2023 meeting had been set. Motion by Trustee Reno, seconded by Stephen Tetreau, to receive the letter and place it on the October meeting agenda. **Motion Carried** 

## 7. Public Hearing:

Motion by Trustee Reno, seconded by Mike Bacheller to Open the Public Hearing at 7:05pm

a. Rezoning Request: Nick Sears, Parcel Number 74-28-172-0018-000; 1915 Henry Street. The property is currently zoned RM-2, Multiple-Family Residential. The zoning classification being requested is R-2, Single-Family Residential.

Stephen Cassin, Planning Consultant, presented his written Rezoning Review and addressed the request with the owner.

i. Nick Sears withdrew the Rezoning request.

Motion by Trustee John Reno, supported by Stephen Tetreau to close the Public Hearing at 7:08pm. **Motion Carried.** 

- 8. Old Business None
- 9. New Business None
- 10. Reports
  - a. Township Planner Steve Cassin None
  - b. Township Board Reports John Reno, None
  - c. Zoning Board of Appeals None

## 11. Adjournment

a. Motion by Laura Covyeow, seconded by Mike Bacheller, to adjourn the meeting. **Motion Carried.** Meeting adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted Penny Simpson